Skip to main content

Two rural Pottawattamie County residents appointed to Iowa West board

February 18, 2022

(Council Bluffs, IA) Iowa West’s Board of Directors recently appointed two new board members to serve 3-year terms. Travis Castle of Treynor and Joanie Poore of Underwood will fulfill two board positions reserved for rural representatives of southwest Iowa.

“We are pleased to welcome to the board two community-minded individuals with unique perspectives who will represent the many smaller cities in our geographic service area,” said Matt Gronstal, Iowa West Foundation Board Chair. “Their experience and expertise ranges from the financial industry to housing/homelessness and will be extremely valuable going forward as we implement our strategic plan.”

Castle is a small business owner of Castle & Associates of American Family Insurance who’s heavily involved in his community and Poore is the CEO of Omaha Housing Authority with several years of experience on the Foundation’s Healthy Families Advisory Committee.

“As a life-long resident of southwest Iowa, I believe the impact the Iowa West Racing Association and the Iowa West Foundation have on our community is inspiring,” Poore said. “I am very grateful for the opportunity to serve on the board and be a part of that impact.”

Castle echoed her sentiments.

“As a life-long citizen of rural Iowa communities, I have developed a passion and understand the importance of providing leadership and development in these regions,” Castle said.  “I look forward to carrying on the rich tradition of impact that the Iowa West Foundation has had on our region. It will be exciting to see how southwest Iowa families and communities continue to prosper in the years to come.”

The Iowa West Foundation and the Iowa West Racing Association boards also elected officers for 2022.

  • Matt Gronstal of Council Bluffs, IWF Chair;
  • Tara Slevin of Council Bluffs, IWF Vice-Chair;
  • Tammy Pavich of Council Bluffs, IWF Secretary/Treasurer;
  • Amy Crawford of Council Bluffs, IWRA President;
  • Kate Cutler of Council Bluffs, IWRA Vice-President; and
  • Cindy Hume of Council Bluffs, IWRA Secretary-Treasurer

“Our Board members have the significant responsibility of being good stewards of the Foundation’s assets and ensuring that our investments have a lasting impact, said Brenda Mainwaring, President and CEO of the Iowa West Foundation. “We appreciate all of our volunteer board members who serve as great contributors to helping communities achieve their dreams.”

Nominations for board members are received from the Council Bluffs Chamber of Commerce, Council Bluffs City Council, the Council Bluffs Community School District, and Pottawattamie County Board of Supervisors.

Media Inquiries:

Nicole Lindquist
Director of Communications
w: 712-309-3004
c: 402-981-2289

OUR VISION is a community where families choose to live, and businesses choose to locate, because of its quality of life and standard of living.


Enter your email address to receive updates from the Iowa West Foundation directly in your inbox.