Skip to main content

Iowa West Welcomes New Staff, Board, and Advisory Committee Members

January 25, 2024

Solomon hired as Office Coordinator, Alford Elected to Board, and Forristall and German Join Advisory Committee

The Iowa West Foundation recently welcomed several new members to the organization. Council Bluffs native Emily Solomon began her role on staff as the office coordinator and former advisory committee member Mike Alford was elected to the Iowa West Racing Association board. In addition, Cody Forristall of Carson who is the CEO of Power Tech, and Tim German of Council Bluffs who is the President of Frontier Savings Bank were named to the Foundation’s advisory committee, which plays a key role in its grantmaking.

“We are pleased to welcome these individuals who will represent our community well,” said Tara Slevin, Iowa West Foundation Board Chair. “Their experience and expertise ranges from education to banking and small business ownership, which will be extremely valuable as the Foundation strives to create communities where families love to live, and businesses thrive.”

Solomon brings with her a wealth of knowledge in the field of education as well as her most recent experience serving as a network performance partner for Honor, where she excelled in program development and technology for senior citizens.

“Growing up in Southwest Iowa has allowed me to witness firsthand the incredible impact of this Foundation on our community,” Solomon said. “Joining forces with a committed team, I am thrilled and honored to contribute towards fulfilling the mission of making lasting and positive changes.”

Alford, Vice President of Pinnacle Bank, echoed those sentiments.

“My family and I have lived in Council Bluffs for more than 30 years and I have witnessed the amazing impact that the Iowa West Foundation has had on our community since its founding,” he said. “I am truly excited and honored to be a part of an organization that will bring forth even more positive change to the place we love to live!”

The Iowa West Foundation and the Iowa West Racing Association boards also re-elected officers for 2023.

  • Tara Slevin, IWF Chair
  • Tammy Pavich, IWF Vice-Chair
  • Kate Cutler, IWRA President
  • Warren Weber, IWRA Vice-President

“Board members and advisory committee members have the significant responsibility of being good stewards of the Foundation’s assets and ensuring that we are listening to the community and working together to help our communities and residents prosper,” said Brenda Mainwaring, President, and CEO of the Iowa West Foundation. “We appreciate all of these volunteers who give of their time to serve their community in this capacity.”

Nominations for board members are made by the Council Bluffs Chamber of Commerce, Council Bluffs City Council, the Council Bluffs Community School District, and Pottawattamie County Board of Supervisors.

Nicole Lindquist

Written by Nicole Lindquist, Director of Communications

Media Inquiries:

Nicole Lindquist
Director of Communications
w: 712-309-3004
c: 402-981-2289

OUR VISION is a community where families choose to live, and businesses choose to locate, because of its quality of life and standard of living.


Enter your email address to receive updates from the Iowa West Foundation directly in your inbox.