Sign-up to receive email updates from the Iowa West Foundation

Press Release

Feb. 17, 2015

Nicole Lindquist
Communications Director

Iowa West Foundation Elects New Members, Officers


(Council Bluffs, IA) The Board of Directors of the Iowa West Racing Association (IWRA), and the Iowa West Foundation (IWF), held their annual meetings on January 20, 2015, and elections were held for the respective organizations.

Two new Iowa West Board members were elected:

  • Kate Cutler of Council Bluffs; and
  • Tara Slevin of Council Bluffs.

Cutler, a native of Council Bluffs, is the retired Senior Counsel from the legal department of West Corporation of Omaha. She is a graduate of the University of Iowa and received her Juris Doctorate from Creighton University. Other work experience includes: Vice President at Mutual of Omaha Companies; Assistant Pottawattamie County Attorney; and an elementary school educator. Cutler has been active in many state and local civic organizations, notably as a commissioner of the Iowa Racing and Gaming Commission, where she served for nine years and chaired the commission from 2006 to 2008. Current local civic activities include being a board member on: Habitat for Humanity; the Municipal Housing Agency; Southwest Iowa Legal Aid; Visiting Nurses Association; Hospice of Southwest Iowa; and, the Historic Dodge House Foundation. She will serve on the Iowa West Foundation Board.

Slevin is Vice President of Development and Volunteer Services for Jennie Edmundson Hospital in Council Bluffs. Her history at the hospital stems back to starting as a teen volunteer coordinator followed by directing volunteer services, and progressing into her current position. Slevin is active in a variety of national, state, and local organizations including: the Iowa State Association for Healthcare Volunteer Resource Professionals; Association for Healthcare Philanthropy; Iowa Hospital Association for Foundation Professionals; Caring for Our Communities in Southwest Iowa; the C.B. Ambassadors of the Council Bluffs Chamber of Commerce; Council Bluffs Civil Service Commission; and the Historic Dodge House Board. She will serve on the Iowa West Foundation Board.        

“This is an important time for Iowa West. A significant Board transition is taking place,” said Pete Tulipana, Iowa West Foundation President and CEO. “We are grateful for the tremendous service of our three retiring Board members who served in important Iowa West leadership positions: Patti Hannan, John P. Nelson and Suellen Overton.”

In other election news, Board officers were elected for 2015:

  • Rick Crowl of Council Bluffs was elected as IWF Chair;
  • Deb Bass of Council Bluffs was re-elected as IWRA President;
  • Bob Schlott of Council Bluffs was elected as IWF Vice-Chair;
  • Rick Killion of Council Bluffs was elected as IWRA Vice-President;
  • Amy Crawford of Council Bluffs was elected as IWF Secretary/Treasurer; and
  • Dr. Theresa Barron-McKeagney of Council Bluffs was re-elected as IWRA Secretary-Treasurer.

The Iowa West Foundation is one of the largest private foundations in the Midwest. It has distributed more than $320 million in grants to non-profits and governmental agencies through southwest Iowa and eastern Nebraska since the inception of its grant program in 1996. Funding for the grants comes from investment earnings and the Iowa West Racing Association, which receives contractual fees from casino operators, Ameristar and Harrah’s. IWRA is the license sponsor for Ameristar and Harrah’s and the license holder for Horseshoe-Bluffs Run.



OUR VISION is a community where families choose to
live, and businesses choose to locate, because of its
quality of life and standard of living.

Iowa West Foundation    |    25 Main Place, Suite 550    |    Council Bluffs, Iowa    |    712-309-3000